Home > Projects, Random Thoughts, Works in Progress > Oh Unicode how I love and hate you.

Oh Unicode how I love and hate you.

Unicode is a really great thing. It allows for a wide range of special characters and letters in different languages.

The problem is that is is messy to work with while programming especially when you want to create standardized code.
Anyway, I am working on a Linux terminal picture viewer probably because I’m enjoying using the terminal and sometimes need to see a picture file before copying it or moving it.
This presents a problem for text only terminals I need to view the image, especially if it has come from a digital camera with an odd name.

Here is the result of my tinkering you can see a standard ASCII version and a Unicode version using the braille letters as dithering patterns. Currently it is SFML powered C++. The image is the standard test image, “lena”.

So there you have it, a use for a very odd set of Unicode characters, the braille set.

  1. June 20, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    How are you determining the figure? Are you using heavier characters based on brightness, edges, etc?

  2. June 21, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    I find the intensity of a pixel by first averaging the RGB values so I get a single intensity value. I then select a character for the pixel I’m replacing on 0 to 9 scale.

  3. June 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    What is that, a BeOS color scheme? My eyes, how they cry out in pain.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

